Saturday, August 15, 2009

Sibling Rivalry

As you may have seen or heard, my brother flew up from the great state of Texas to surprise me on my birthday. Simple, but one of the best surprises I have ever gotten and boy did we have one hell of a weekend.

My brother is my best friend. Lie for. Cry for. Die for. Period.

With that said, I have heard that saying, "you can't choose your family.", but I still can't understand how siblings who grew up in the same home, don't really cut for one another like that. Much less, even be friends. Sure my brother and I fought when we were kids. What brothers haven't had a fight, but it never got to a point where there was any love lost.

My boy, Smoke has two brothers. (he is the middle child, 4yrs apart from each brother) When Smoke got married, his college roommate was the best man, one of his brothers was a groomsman and the other brother was at the wedding, but didn't go to the reception. It was this event that got me baffled about siblings being friends.

Can any one out there maybe share a story or situation to help me to understand why some siblings (that grew up together) aren't friends?

Monday, August 3, 2009

More Bang for Your Buck

Staycation. Expect more. Pay less. Save money. Live better. We're all trying to figure out how to cut back here and there. My folks grew up in another country and passed along their good sense about eating well without spending a lot to me. This week I went to three stores, spent $61 and managed to pick up enough food for breakfast, lunch, snacks, and dinner.

Brand loyalty? Fuck a brand, give me the cheapest price per unit. You determine how low you'll go and what's the most you're willing to spend. Coupons? If you've got the time on your hands for the serious commitment it takes, go for it. I've been know to walk up to the sales clerk at CVS and slam my coupons on the counter while exclaiming 'hit me!' as I rack up on my air scents and walk away feeling like a trouper because I paid $5 for $25 worth of stuff. But I digress....

First thing I do is make a list of tried and true essentials for breakfast, lunch and snacks. I then look at a few circulars. Whomever has the most of what I want at the cheapest price, gets my business. Next to the food item I'll indicate which store I'll go to make my purchase. At this point I know I've won a battle. Half the work is done. I go drink some café con leche, read everyone's updates on mother of all networking sites....you get the point. I've rested and I'm ready for the war. Dinner. What's for dinner? Keep it simple. Think of meals that will work for dinner and stretch into lunch the next day.

Harris Teeter:
two dozen eggs 1.76
buy two get three free bacon 7.58 (freeze what you're not going to use this week)
buy one pound get another free cheddar cheese 5.52
buy one pound get another free smoked turkey 7.10
one pint of strawberries 1.25 (they had a 4 for $5 special)
goldfish 9 pack 5.29
TOTAL SPENT $29.07 (including sales tax)

From what I've purchased above, both kids can eat crackers, cheese, turkey, and fruit provided by yours truly for lunch without me paying the Kraft price for a lunchable.

Food Lion:
two blocks of Food Lion brand cheddar cheese (8 oz. each) $ 3.51
two pints of heavy whipping cream $5.38
one package of soft flour tortillas $1.40
one box of cheez-it crackers $2.50
one pound of ground beef $3.44
ten pounds of chicken leg quarters $7.90
TOTAL SPENT $24.68 (including sales tax)

Aldi:
one bag of granny smith apples $2.69
a small tub of parmesan cheese $1.99
unsalted butter $1.89TOTAL SPENT $6.70

From what I've purchased above at the last two stores along with what I have at home (never let your pantry or fridge go bare), I now have enough to feed everyone.

Mac-n-cheese with turnip greens and pica pollo (Dominican fried chicken)
Guilty pleasure, I know, get over it, we're in the South...
















Spaghetti alla Carbonara














I've also made quesadillas, but these folks gobbled them up before I could snap a quick pic.

It's only Monday night. Three more dinners to go. Friday is known as FOF around these parts, as in Fuck Off Friday. Something odd happens to my kitchen appliances and they go on strike, lol.

Sunday, August 2, 2009

Tex Birthday Celebration

This Thursday is my 31st birthday. I use to think I was getting old, but now I feel like I'm getting better. Don't get me wrong, my 20's were awesome, but so far my 30's have been amazing. Done a little traveling, partying and most importantly I'm beginning to see some hard work pay off. Alright, enough with that nonsense...

Every Thursday at Globe Restaurant & Bar, Phonte and I present Tigallo's Two Step Thursdays in association with LisaMax Events. It has been doing well and growing every week. It just so happens that my birthday falls on this Thursday and I planned a couple things, gotta a few people coming in from out of town, etc... It will be an all weekend event. I advise you to take Friday off from work as I have done and let's get it. I'll be announcing Friday's event at the Two Step on Thursday. All events will be fun... guaranteed.
Hope to see you there and anyone else with a birthday this week, I owe you a drink!

Thursday, July 30, 2009

Whatever Lola Wants...

Lola USED to get...



I have been asked to weigh in here every now & then because of my interesting outlook on life, love and lunacy! For all intents & purposes, you can call me "Lola" and I will call you whatever I want. Fair? FAIR!



Back in the day, when I met Tex... I LIVED by the old Jazz tune "whatever Lola wants, Lola gets!" I saw him, I went after a guy, I got the guy and MOST times, I moved on. (FYI, Tex & I were only friends... in fact I think he was "Seeing" my roomie at one point... *giggles) ANYWAY, my approach was never slutty or over the top but it was always calculated. After undergrad, I went into full-on "Seduce & Destroy" mode where my motto was: "Don't let them get away!" (Please see the 1999 movie Magnolia for more on where I came up with this!) But let me tell you this, as I got older, it allll got OLD! It seems I started to develop "feelings"! *shudder* My pseudo-testosterone levels and mannish ways were overcome by estrogen and nuturing/nesting instincts. I wanted to CARE for & about a man... WHO HAD/HAVE I BECOME? Apparently, I'm still me. Deep down inside, I'm still "Lola"... Lola 2.0 (I like the sound of that)



I am MUCH more analytical than before. As well as far more introspective and in touch with my inner sukka (and let me tell you IMMA SUKKA© [that term doesn't belong to me] for lots of things! You'll see.). The BIG difference now is I realize that what you want is NOT always what you need. As a result, I am spending more time getting those two things to line up! It's has been a journey to say the least. I invite you to take the journey with me!



Tex, I hope I don't disappoint!

Love,
Lola


Wednesday, July 29, 2009

You carrying?

I was watching Entourage the other night when I got this email. it was a clip of the Jimmy Kimmel Live show where his sidekick, Guillermo drank tequila with stars on the red carpet at the Emmys. It's an old clip, but pretty darn funny. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xSMCdXaICVg

During Guillermo's interview (and drink) with Tara Summers (Boston Legal) he pulls 6 condoms out of her purse. I've never been to the Emmys, but if it's going down like that to where she needs 6 condoms, sign me up!!!!

With that said, we are all educated adults with our own "experiences". At this stage of your life, with the knowledge of the reprecussions of unprotected sex...

Ladies, do you purchase your own condoms or do you expect the guy to have them?

Fellas, if a woman has her own condoms, does it give you pause or do you appreciate the convenience?

I definitely appreciate her having condoms, but still my thought is... it depends.

I'm going to feel differently about Lady A (who has a few condoms in her nightstand that she isn't even sure where most of them came from) than I am about Lady B (who has a "sex drawer" with a box of 60 [with a few missing] next to the his & hers KY jelly, oils, fuzzy handcuffs, 3 different vibrators, a dragonfly, some candles, a blindfold, spiked paddle, gimp mask, a wonder woman tiara and several DVDs). Then there is an entirely different thought about Lady C who carries them around wherever she goes. (Serioulsy, you need condoms on you in Target?!)

Now I think Lady A is probably "safer", meaning less experienced, but those few condoms she has are probably expired. So I'd use my own. Lady B's inventory is battle tested and good to go! Goodyear doesn't make rubber as reliable as the rubber in Lady B's drawer. So I'd use her condoms. Among other things from the drawer...

You know what? Thinking about Lady B made me lose my train of thought & the point I was trying to make. I'll just ask you thoughts. Talk to me. got condoms?

Welcome

What it do good people?!

I have been told I should start a blog several times. Just hadn't got around to it until now. I plan on doing this a little different though. Mainly because I'm a computer programmer & definitely not a writer. Also because I don't want to do it like everyone else.

The point of this "blog"will have thought provoking, entertaining, informative & most importantly FUN conversations. It will be ran on the feedback of its readers and its multiple contributors. Yes multiple contributors because I don't always know the answer, but most times I know where to go to get the answer. So send me your questions, topics, concerns, etc... Can't wait to hear from you.